Internet Archeology II

Eve Carson was a student at UNC, president of the undergraduate student body, and an incredible individual. On March 5, 2008 she was abducted from outside her apartment, robbed, and brutally murdered, her body dumped in an intersection. I didn’t really know Eve but her death was emotionally devastating for me as it was for most everyone in the community. While searching for some ancient local newspaper coverage of my high school soccer team I found this, a comment I posted on a forum set up for people to send messages of sympathy and remembrance:

Devin Howard said

March 9, 2008 at 3:58 am

I knew Eve only indirectly, a brief introduction in the pit and exactly two lunches at the same table upstairs lenoir were the only occasions that I interacted with her and yet, when I opened up my browser on thursday morning, after being out of town all week, I was devastated. I found myself outraged, confused, disbelieving. Eve was essentially a stranger to me but I find myself grieving like ive lost my best friend. The outpouring of sympathy, from across the country, from Mexico, from Europe, from the Duke student body testifies to what was lost when Eve Carson was killed. This was a person who was going to change our world, whose light and energy affected the lives of so many in a positive manner. Thank you Eve for what you gave and gave and gave to all of us.

Perhaps it was the tight knit sense of community at Chapel Hill or the profound injustice and brutality of the crime, but this affected me in ways I still don’t fully understand. It was unfair, at a cosmic, existential level for someone whose life was devoted in large measure to helping other people to die by such terrifyingly nonchalant violence. And as juvenile as that sounds, that is how I feel. It wasn’t right, whatever powers of fate or deity that govern our corporeal world have no excuse for standing by while Eve Carson died. And that is just the way I feel.

One comment

Leave a Reply

